Blog Post of Holy Smokes, How Long Has It Been


While this blog has been on my mind for quite a while, I can’t believe that it’s been this long. Here in Australia, Winter is almost done, and my last post was for a Seasonal Banner update, so geez it’s been longer than I thought.

Anyway, I’m posting now because I’ve got a bit of an update. It’s 2D gifs, the reason is 2D gifs.

 

(I sure hope this works, because the formatting for these images looks pretty janky on my end. Characters, in order, are Aya Shameimaru from Touhou 10.5,  Yuki from Draglade and Goenitz’s sprite from SVC: Chaos)

After how many NeoGAF threads where I’ve been unable to find gif’s of what I want to post about, I’ve decided to finally give sprite sheet animating a try. I did briefly attempt an animation in the past, it was an idle animation from the fighting game, Touhou 7.5 Immaterial and Missing Power, and the character was for Alice.

I plan to do new gif’s weekly. I think it’s good practice and I, well I don’t know, I just feel like doing it really. It feels like that’s the only consistent reasoning I have for all my unrelated hobbies.

(This particular animation was pretty easy to do, I just needed to line up the body. I don’t expect future 13.5 and 14.5 gif attempts to be nearly as quick)

I do want to say that Touhou 14.5’s sprites have been difficult. While I’ve always rather liked the sprites of the Touhou fighters, I’ve got a new respect for the artist working on the newer fighters. It’s bloody hard to re-animate them since 14.5 is an air only fighting game (like Astra Superstars, but with more projectiles) and I cannot just depend on the positioning of feet like I can for most fighting game animations. I definitely have a newfound respect for the artist/animator because they’re really satisfying when playing the game and I’ve never realized ’til now how hard they must be to get right, so again, props to them.

In other news, I’m planning on posting a bunch of NeoGAF related stuff. There was a 4th Gen Soundtrack thread and I plan on adding extended write ups. Mostly, it’s for the Notable Tracks/Honorable Mentions as there were quite a few NT picks that I really wanted to be HMs, and I had write ups done for them. I think I’ll be able to put that out before the end of the week as, unlike my LOLK write ups that don’t exist, I already wrote quite a lot on those OST’s. I just dummied them out, and bringing them back in is just a matter of brushing up the writing a little bit.

I’ve been fairly busy with other stuff (mostly the real life boring kind of things), though I’ve been playing through Neo-Geo games quite a bit recently. I’ve also been looking into Platform Fighters quite a bit because it’s an interesting to pic and it’s a subgenre that interests me a lot. Mostly I just want to do something that just shows that, no, it’s not a bloody Smash clone just because it has four players and platform-fighting. Maybe it could be like a Venn Diagram of “Smash games and its clones are Platform Fighters, but not every Platform Fighter is a Smash clone”, I dunno (I don’t even know what a Venn Diagram is to be quite frank, I just heard about it in High School once).

Fighting games have just been on my mind a lot recently. I’d been playing quite a few KOF games, but then Evo 2016 also came along and was really good, and now I’ve gotten into looking around for indie fighting game projects (I even began playing UMVC3 again until I got bored of doing Arcade Mode over and over for all the characters). I’ve even been thinking about how I’d approach a fighting game myself. An idea that’s been swirling around in my head is a Public Domain Superhero Fighting Game, with characters like the Magician from Mars, Stardust, Man O Steel, Hangman, Silver Streak, Daredevil (not that one), Strongman and Black Cat.

Anyway that’s it for the time being, I’ll have some new content up in a couple more days (when it’s the weekend) so yeah.

Leave a Reply

